top of page

Recipient of Hood Medal 2022, Royal Photographic Society, The United Kingdom

The Royal Photographic Society is delighted to announce the recipients of its 2022 Awards. Werner Herzog, Destiny Deacon, Laia Abril, John Akomfrah, Hoda Afshar, Craig Atkinson and Howard Greenberg are amongst those being celebrated this year. The Royal Photographic Society Awards are the world’s longest running and most prestigious photography accolades. Now in its 144 th year, the awards recognise individuals working across both still and moving image. The Awards celebrate significant achievements, showcase new and emerging talent, and highlight notable contributions from RPS members.

Hood Medal is awarded within the art or science of photography for a body of photographic work produced to promote or raise awareness of an aspect of public benefit or service.This medal was instituted in 1933 when Mr Harold Hood FRPS offered to present annually a medal for meritorious performance in some branch of photography, with particular emphasis on any exhibit which revealed the most outstanding advance in photography for public service.


bottom of page