top of page

Finalist - Olive Cotton Award for photographic portraiture

The 2019 Olive Cotton Award for Photographic Portraiture finalists have been selected by Guest Judge, renowned Australian photomedia artist Marian Drew. The $20,000 biennial national award will be announced at the exhibition opening to be held at Tweed Regional Gallery on Saturday 13 July at 5pm.

2019 Olive Cotton Award Finalists
  • Hoda Afshar

  • Melissa Anderson

  • Riste Andrievski

  • George Angelovski

  • Simon Bernhardt

  • Isaac Brown

  • Chris Budgeon

  • Margaret Ellen Burns

  • Steve Bush

  • Brett Canet-Gibson

  • Dave Carswell

  • Peter Cheng

  • Francis Cloake

  • Michael Corridore

  • Emilio Cresciani

  • Judith Nangala Crispin

  • Gerwyn Davies

  • Agnieszka Davis

  • Isaebella Doherty

  • Ella Dreyfus

  • Stephen Du Pont

  • Justin Ealand

  • Jacqueline Felstead

  • Steph Fuller

  • Douglas Gibson

  • Gary Grealy

  • Natalie Grono

  • Imogen Hall

  • Geoff Harvey

  • Petrina Hicks

  • Kalyanii Holden

  • Vanessa Howells

  • Shea Kirk

  • David Knight

  • Lisa Kurtz

  • Kellie Leczinksa

  • Jane Long

  • Robyn MacRae

  • Garrie Maguire

  • Paula Mahoney

  • Belinda Mason

  • Mia Mala McDonald

  • Andrew Merry

  • Mario Mirabile

  • Brett Moffatt

  • Fiona Morris

  • Cameron Neville

  • Tyrone Ormsby

  • Judith Parrott

  • Ilana Payes

  • Martine Perret

  • Viki Petherbridge

  • Clare Rae

  • Sissy Reyes

  • Renate Rienmueller

  • Allison Rose

  • Annette Ruzicka

  • Karl Schwerdtfeger

  • Robert Scott-Mitchell

  • Sam Scoufos

  • Krystal Seigerman

  • Russell Shakespeare

  • Damien Shen

  • Stephanie Simcox

  • Jeremy Simons

  • Chris Sinclair

  • Grant Smith

  • Lisa Sorgini

  • Marc STapelberg

  • David Stefanoff

  • Tristan Still

  • Jacqui Stockdale

  • Darren Tan

  • Nathan Stolz

  • Cyrus Tang

  • Craig Tuffin

  • Greg Weight

  • Tamara Whyte

  • Yiorgos Zafiriou

  • Anne Zahalka

Olive Cotton Award

The Olive Cotton Award for photographic portraiture is a $20,000 biennial national award for excellence in photographic portraiture dedicated to the memory of photographer Olive Cotton. The winning work is acquired for the Gallery’s Collection. The exhibition is selected from entrants across Australia and is a significant opportunity for photographers living and working in Australia. Entries are now open for the 2019 exhibition to be shown from Friday 12 July to Sunday 22 September.

The award was launched in 2005, and is funded by Olive Cotton’s family and dedicated to her memory as one of Australia’s leading twentieth century photographers. The Award has grown and gained national recognition attracting entries from well-known and emerging photographers across Australia. The award boasts a major acquisitive biennial prize of $20,000, selected by the Award judge. In addition, the Friends of the Tweed Regional Gallery and Margaret Olley Art Centre Inc. fund $4000 for the acquisition of portraits from the exhibition entries to be chosen by the Gallery Director. Visitors to the exhibition may also vote for their 'people’s choice', which awards $250 for to the most popular finalist.

The Gallery thanks art dealer Josef Lebovic and photographer Sally McInerney, Olive Cotton’s daughter, for their ongoing support of the Award and also the Friends of the Gallery committee for their contributions, both financial and practical, to the Award and public program events. We also thank the many volunteers who assist with the huge task of receiving and despatching artworks and many other facets of the Prize organisation.

bottom of page